Dec 16, 2008

Blog Poll.


We need your help. The above photo shows the end result of our last Carrcassonne game. The two players did NOT end this race tied. The Red Player has actually been around the board exactly one more time than the Blue Player. The question is...has the Blue Player been lapped? or not? This is very crucial as, by our rules, if you "lap" the other player, your victory is worth TWO points instead of ONE. So...did the Red Player "lap" the Blue Player? YES or NO?

Your vote counts...this blog poll will determine how we proceed....

20 comments:

  1. NO. i say the act of lapping happens after you've passed a person.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Anonymous12:46 PM

    YES IT IS A LAP! Catch him Eeka!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I've never played that game before, but in all other forms of racing lapping someone is exactly the same as passing someone (with the obvious difference of the passer being a lap ahead). So for this game, you can't lap someone until you're a space ahead of the other player.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Well, I have a hunch that Erika might be the red player, so in that case, I want to say YES, she has lapped the blue player...however, technically, I must agree with Tessa and Kyle. :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. Yes! I say when you catch up, you've lapped the other person. Do you watch survivor? They had a challenge where if you lapped the other team, you won. In that case, lapping meant tagging their back. So, if you go by survivor rules, you've lapped the other player!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Anonymous1:20 PM

    You must pass the other person.

    -Tabitha

    ReplyDelete
  7. I was never in track (okay for like 1 year in middle school...but I did shotput) but when I first read your question my automatic response was, "Yes. it's a lap if you catch up to the other person." The red player caught up to the blue one and therefore did a complete lap MORE than the blue. Just my thoughts!

    ReplyDelete
  8. The blue has lapped the red! (in my opinion)

    ReplyDelete
  9. I agree with most... I think you have to pass the other person in order to lap them.

    ReplyDelete
  10. I believe the red player lapped. If that was the finish line, the red player would clearly have won by a lap! Go Girl! :)

    ReplyDelete
  11. Anonymous7:35 AM

    no no no no no no no no no

    Go Nate!

    ReplyDelete
  12. I say a definite YES!

    ReplyDelete
  13. According to www.thefreedictionary.com:
    To get ahead of (an opponent) in a race by one or more complete circuits of the course, as in running, or by two or more lengths of pool in swimming.

    Red is one complete circuit ahead of blue so I say that the blue player, by definition, has been lapped!!

    ReplyDelete
  14. present progressive tense: "is lapping" (the act is in process)
    past tense: "lapped" (the act is complete)
    I would say that the red "is lapping" but has not yet "lapped"

    now the word "lap" has ceased to sound like an actual word because it has been used too much!

    ReplyDelete
  15. I agree with Mendy. No lap for you!

    ReplyDelete
  16. If the "lap" occurs on a Friday night and the outside temp is above 31 and both participants have downed at least one cup of cocoa then yes- red has lapped blue!

    ReplyDelete
  17. I agree with Kyle on this one. they have caught up with, but not lapped... And I have no idea who is who so there is no bias here. (that's gotta count for somethin')

    ReplyDelete
  18. One has to pass in order to lap.

    ReplyDelete
  19. Anonymous1:52 PM

    Equal to is lapping. Just to make sure, I want to check Webster Dict just to make sure....but with new info I believe red has lapped.

    ReplyDelete
  20. Red has gone a lap more than blue, so yes blue has been lapped. It's so simple.

    ReplyDelete